Carlos Palanca Award Winners for the Year 2005

The 55th Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature writing contest organizers announced last Sept 1, 2005 this year's winners.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Related: Carlos Palanca Award winners for the Year 2006


Grand Prize: Dean Francis Alfar, "Salamanca" (excerpt)

Full-Length Play
First Prize: Glenn Sevilla Mas, "In the Land of the Giants"
Second Prize: Ma. Clarissa Estuar, "Jyan Ken Pon"
Third Prize: Allan Lopez, "Something Happened" (excerpt)

One-Act Play
First Prize: Alfonso Dacanay, "First Snow of November"
Second Prize: Glenn Mas, "Children of the Sea"
Third Prize: Christopher Martinez, "Welcome to Intelstar"

First Prize: Joel Toledo, "What Little I Know of Luminosity"
Second Prize: Naya Valdellon, "Evasions"
Third Prize: Ana Maria Katigbak, "The Proxy Eros"

([Comment] Naya Valdellon, who also won a Palanca last year for the poem Casual Ties, also wrote Casualty. I wonder if there's a connection. I wish the Palanca Foundation would provide copies of the winning pieces online. Anyway, found out that Quark Henares once made Naya cry.)

Futuristic Fiction
First Prize: Karen Manalastas, "Treasure island"
Second Prize: Pia Roxas, "Last Bus Ride"
Third Prize: Pearlsha Abubakar, "Espiritu Santos"

Short Story
First Prize: Alexis Abola, "The Shakespeare Guy"
Second Prize: Lakambini Sitoy, "Shut Up and Live"
Third Prize: Maryanne Moll, "At Merienda"

Short Story for Children
First Prize: Grace Dacanay-Chong, "No Lipstick for Mother"
Second Prize: Raissa Claire Rivera, "The Dancers of Malumbay"
Third Prize: Nikki Alfar, "Menggay’s Magical Chicken"

First Prize: Lakambini Sitoy, "From the Outlands with Love"
Second Prize: Aurelio Agcaoili, "Metaphor Man and Migrant, I"
Third Prize: Maria Angela Perreras, "Thorn"

Kabataan Essay
First Prize: Patricia Marie I. Ranada, "Stories"
Second Prize: Joan Paula A. Deveraturda, "As Silly As It Gets"
Third Prize: Katrina G. Gomez, "Learning to be Filipino"


Grand: Ellen Sicat, "Unang Ulan ng Mayo"

Dulang Pampelikula
First Prize: Erlito G. Reyes, "Hubog ng Langit"
Second Prize: Veronica B. Velasco, "Boy"
Third Prize: Allan A. Tijamo, "Blue Moon"

Dulang Pantelebisyon
First Prize: Manuel R. Buising , "Niños Inocentes"
Second Prize: Elmer L. Gatchalian, "Pasalubong"
Third Prize: Ma. Clarissa N. Estuar, "Bayad Utang"

Dulang Ganap ang Haba
First Prize : Reuel M. Aguila, "Baligho"
Second Prize: Edward P. Perez, Jr., "Si Marya at si Kiling"
Third Prize: Rodolfo Carlos Vera, "Masa" (excerpt)

Dulang May Isang Yugto
First Prize: "No winner"
Second Prize: Joseph Patrick V. Arevalo, "Sa Loob ng Kawayan"
Third Prize: Vincent A. De Jesus, "Ateng…"

First Prize: Luis P. Gatmaitan, M.D., "Tapok at Banlik"
Second Prize: Ferdinand Pisigan Jarin, "Anim na Sabado ng Beyblade"
Third Prize: Eugene Y. Evasco, "Segunda Mano"

Kabataan Sanaysay
First Prize: Kristina D.C. Javier, "Wahahahahahahahahaha!"
Second Prize: Jamaica Jane J. Pascual, "Alaala ng Quiapo"
Third Prize: Arnold Pantaleon Pascua II, ""K""

First Prize: Joseph Rosmon M. Tuazon, "Sa Pagitan ng mga Emerhensiya"
Second Prize: Rebecca T. Añonuevo, "Buong-Buo"
Third Prize: Mesandel Virtusio Arguelles, "Una Prosa"

Futuristing Fiction - FILIPINO
First Prize: "No winner"
Second Prize: "No winner"
Third Prize: Ruel Garcia Enoya, "Vic"

Maikling Kuwentong Pambata
First Prize: Eugene Y. Evasco, "Tag-araw ng mga Ibong Hilaga"
Second Prize: Edgar B. Maranan, "Ang Batang Nanaginip na Siya'y Nakalilipad"
Third Prize: Perry C. Mangilaya, "Ang Kahon ni Lolo Yoyong"

Maikling Kuwento
First Prize: Agustin Pagusara, Jr., "Mga Landas ng Pangarap"
Second Prize: Domingo G. Landicho, "Anay sa Dagat na Asul"
Third Prize: John Iremil E. Teodoro, "Ang Santo Niño na Walang Ulo"

Maikling Kuwento - Cebuano
First Prize: Macario D. Tiu, "Balyan"
Second Prize: Agustin Pagusara, Jr., "Bangka sa Kinabuhi"
Third Prize: Josua S. Cabrera, "Sesyon"

Maikling Kuwento - Hiligaynon
First Prize: Genevieve L. Asenjo, "Turagsoy"
Second Prize: Christian F. Emague, "Kaupod"
Third Prize: Lester Mark P. Carnaje, "Daguob Sang Dagat"

Maikling Kuwento - Iluko
First Prize: Danilo B. Antalan, "Goyo: Ti Dangadang Iti Ulep"
Second Prize: Joel B. Manuel, "Ti Galienera, Ti Ili, Ken Tallo a Kronika"
Third Prize: Daniel L. Nesperos, "Dagiti Dir-i Ken Tagay iti Daradara a Bangabanga"

Carlos Palanca Winners of previous years:
2004 | 2002 | 2000 | Other Years

Other Carlos Palanca Trivia

Number of winning works - 62
Number of winning authors - 57

Five multiple winners:
- Glenn Sevilla Mas
- Ma. Clarissa N. Estuar
- Agustin Pagusara, Jr.
- Eugene Y. Evasco
- Lakambini A. Sitoy

Number of new winners - 26 (45.6%)
Number of former winners - 31 (54.4%)

Two Hall of Fame Awardees:
- Luis P. Gatmaitan
- Manuel R. Buising

[ First posted on 09/02/2005 by Manuel Viloria ]

Do you LIKE this page? Please let us know, and we will publish more of the content that YOU want. Salamat po!

Panuorin Mo Ito...

Visit ~ Kumita sa Internet, Kahit Super-BUSY Ka

Get In Touch With Manuel Today

  Previous Entry
  Next Entry

Secondthoughts @
Manuel Viloria
About Manuel Viloria
Contact Us
Privacy Statement
RSS Feed

Google Reader

Copyright © 1996 - 2012 by All Rights Reserved.